Remarkable Ohio

Serpent Mound Marker

Home / Fairfield County / 12-23 John Bright #2 Covered Bridge [3]

  • 12-23 John Bright #2 Covered Bridge 12-23 John Bright #2 Covered Bridge
  • 12-23 Marker Side B 12-23 Marker Side B
  • 12-23 Marker Side A 12-23 Marker Side A
Title, side A
John Bright #2 Covered Bridge
Text, side A
Built in 1881, John Bright #2 covered bridge originally spanned Poplar Creek on Bish Road near Baltimore, Ohio. It is named after pioneer settler John Bright, whose family farm was located near the original site. August Borneman of Lancaster, the leading bridge builder in the area, built the 70-foot span for a cost of $927.50. The bridge features a rare inverted bowstring truss and a unique metal sway bracing system. Sometime later a wooden arch was added. In 1975, John Bright #2 was listed on the National Register of Historic Places. (Continued on other side)
Text, side B
(Continued from other side) Ohio University Lancaster Dean Ray Wilkes led efforts to save John Bright #2 after it could no longer carry vehicular traffic. In April of 1988 the bridge was moved 12 miles from Poplar Creek to Fetter's Run at Ohio University Lancaster, where preservation efforts on the bridge were undertaken. Cooperation among Ohio University Lancaster, Fairfield County, local businesses and organizations, and volunteers enabled the completion of the project in 1990. John Bright #2 is a testament to innovative bridge building techniques in the late 19th century and community cooperation and pride 100 years later.
Address
1570 Granville Pike
Lancaster, OH 43130
Location
E of the South Parking Lot on the Ohio University Lancaster campus, on a hiking/biking trail
Coordinates
Latitude: 39.737616, Longitude: -82.584958.
Google map: